Drought disaster declared in Montana along with neighbors North and South Dakota as hot and dry conditions has caused significant injury to crops


Photo The Nation
Governor Steve Bullock issued an executive order on Friday declaring a drought disaster in 31 counties and six Indian Reservations.
According to a press release, a widespread drought in eastern and central Montana has caused significant injury to crops including livestock forage.
The effects are imposing economic hardships on many farmers and ranchers. “High temperatures, extreme drought, and worsening fire conditions are affecting Montanans in many corners of our state,” Governor Bullock said.
“We’re doing everything we can to minimize the economic impact of these hot and dry conditions and help folks get back on their feet using all resources available.”
The order includes the following counties and reservations: Blaine, Big Horn, Carter, Choteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, Lake, Lincoln, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sanders, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, Yellowstone, Wheatland, Wibaux Counties, and the Fort Peck Indian Reservation, Fort Belknap Indian Reservation, Rocky Boy’s Indian Reservation, Crow Indian Reservation, Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation, and the Flathead Indian Reservation. (Click to Site)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s